Some time ago I got a lot of flack over a post (or small set of posts) about not putting things on hold and frankly in my case not finding submission very hard …. A couple of people who disagreed commented on here but there was a least one who wrote on their own blog in a not so nice manner. It was quite rude actually but part of their idea was that I never get asked to do things I don’t want to do anyway and so of course nothing goes on hold and I don’t misbehave …

Well it’s Christmas time again and this is the time of year that I get asked to do a bunch of things that I really don’t want to do, and I still don’t fuss and I still don’t put anything on hold because of stress or what have you.

I don’t know the why exactly but I used to be all full steam ahead when it came to Christmas and decorating and the like. My friends used to refer to me as ‘Martha’ because of all the preparation and precision and just over the top attention that was given to each and every detail. Nothing was missed, nothing was out of place, all the gifts were bought with a great amount of thought put into them. Cookies and other baked goods were made for everyone and delivered on time for everyone to start their holiday celebrating, and I’m not a bad baker if I do say so myself …. ! lol

The tree was perfectly lit, so many lights that you could light a runway and each and every ornament placed perfectly. I have collected them over the years, one of a kinds, hand made, lots of old fashioned blown glass …. very old school and I even went and found the Christmas pickle to put upon the tree! πŸ˜€

One year, and just before we made the switch to this lifestyle, I just didn’t give a rat’s patootie about any of it. I did finally get the tree up, maybe just the week before? I don’t remember …. the gifts were mostly cash or gift cards and no baked goods were dropped off. Menopause tends to do that to you, makes you a little squirrely, lots of feels of ‘ugh’ and melancholy for no apparent reason coupled with the physical symptoms like lack of sleep and body pain and voila, bad mood!

Anyway, the short and long of it is I still really have no desire to put up a tree! Not even a little, I started decorating for winter instead so that I don’t need to change it all over in the new year, I decorate for all four seasons as it is. Well Sir wants a tree, He feels it’s important and every year He brings home a tree …. It’s sitting in the living room now and should be just about ready to be decorated. You need to give it a few days to acclimate and for the branches to drop before you decorate, it would be a real shame if those glass ornaments hit the floor! Blown glass is not very strong …

I could whine and complain that my raynaud’s is acting up, my fingers go from freezing to warm and swollen, they hurt like h3ll and have little ‘dots’ all over them that make picking things up almost impossible without pain or dropping! I could mention that my back and shoulders are just getting worse over the years and it hurts to just physically stand that long and do the job, I could complain that I’m terribly allergic to the tree and having to basically ‘climb’ into it to place the lights and such makes ever single area of skin break out that comes in contact with the greenery. All of these things are real and true and I could try to use them all as my excuse to either not do it or be grumpy …

I believe the way you feel is a choice, my choice and no one can do anything about it but me. I still don’t want to put up the tree but I will put on my favourite Christmas CD, I will ask for a nice glass of red wine and a fire to be started and I will ask Sir to join me in the living room for company as I work and put the tree together. I will put in just as much time and effort as I ever did (perhaps with a few more breaks than before) and I will hope to please Him greatly once it is all said and done.

Yes to me I am being asked to do something I really don’t want to do, my mind has just never gotten back into it, I don’t know why and it probably sounds completely backwards to my usual attitude because it is …. it’s a lot of work and hassle and it means moving furniture and redecorating in January, so be it! I’m not going to stop being respectful and obedient, I’m not going to stop doing the best I can to please Him no matter what kind of crazy is going on inside my head …

I’m going to do what He wants, even when I really don’t like it and I’m going to make the best of it. And mostly I really hope He will be pleased! πŸ˜€ At this point in my life that is more important than getting what I want. (Well it always has been truthfully.)

Love You Always Sir ❀

 

3 thoughts on “No, I don’t always get what I want …..

  1. Wonderful and timely post! Two issues speak to me here. First and foremost is that you are devoted to your Master and your submission. It pleases Him and you to do these things, therefore, there is no question that you will do them. And when all is said and done, I am quite certain in your soul you must heave a sigh of relief, sip the last of the wine, sit back, and admire the gorgeous tree and your beautiful decorating job with great satisfaction. I have always vicariously enjoyed friends’ Christmas decorations (we are Jewish) and even from time to time helped trim their trees. But the sheer blood sweat and tears of hauling everything out and putting it all away after New Year’s just floors me. I think you are very strong and I admire you immensely.

    Second, it’s nobody else’s business (and quite rude) to comment on how you and your Master do what you do. How on earth would they even know whether you are asked to do things you perceive as difficult or which you’d rather not do? Do they live in your household 24/7? We all do things we wish we did not have to do. For me, I wish I never had to iron another garment for the rest of my life. I don’t mind cleaning bathrooms, doing laundry, washing dishes or cooking. Vacuuming is okay, and dusting is another thing I detest. I wish I did not have to go to the occasional cocktail party with Sir – I’m not good at socializing, and because of my shyness, people often assume I am cold/bitchy/rude or uninterested in them. It just amazes me at the lack of etiquette today; that any unknown someone thinks because they read your blog that they “know” you or they have the right to pass judgment upon you and what you say or do. That just is not correct. Mind your own business, I say, and we will all get along much better. Or as my father taught us, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Angel! Truth be told the person caught me at a bad time when I was losing a family member and my words were maybe less tempered than they might have been/should have been, but I was really quite surprised by the force of the attack, perhaps they thought I wouldn’t see it, who knows…

      Truth be told some of my recent posts have been in some way or another inspired by you! πŸ˜€ I guess if I ever had the opportunity to sit and chat with you these would be the topics I would like to touch on and maybe give you some insight towards in hopes of helping you along your own journey of life.

      I can see in your writing that you try very hard and although I am certainly no expert on anyone else’s life sometimes all it takes is a sounding board to help you see things more clearly.

      I’ve been lucky enough to find that for myself, I guess I’d love to be able to pay it forward as they say!

      Happy Holidays my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome! :D

